Prince Caspian

May 21, 2008

It’s no secret that I really love The Chronicles of Narnia.  I started reading the books when I was 9, and they’re the first books I can remember reading and truly loving.  So when they announced a movie version of The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe, I was understandably nervous, because honestly – as fun as those BBC movies are, they are seriously terrible.  But then, December 2005 rolled around, and I headed off to the opening night showing.  And I was ecstatic.  Because they did it right, and the movie was great, and I loved it.  And it made over $740 million worldwide.  Which means: sequel.

Now, there are those people (who don’t know what they’re talking about) who thought this meant The Horse and His Boy.  I knew we were getting Prince Caspian.  I don’t understand why the publishers rearranged the books into chronological order – they don’t make sense when you read them.  Luckily, my copies of the books were bought secondhand, and were published in 1960.  So I have them in publication order (along with a few other changes that Lewis made – some make sense, some do not.)

Prince Caspian came out on Friday, I saw it opening night (again), and I can honestly say that I was thrilled with the movie.  Yes, there were changes, and yes, there were some problems, but as a whole, the movie is not only an excellent adaptation, but a fantastic film.  If you haven’t seen it yet, go.  Here’s a Japanese preview that might give a little too much away – but it’s a great trailer that really showcases how epic the movie is.

4 Responses to “Prince Caspian”

  1. patrick Says:

    haven’t seen Prince Caspian yet but definitely looking forward to it… i’ll have to look over the book one more time just to remind myself how the original story goes

  2. step Says:

    I’ve actually started NOT reading the book before seeing the movie – the first one I did this with was Order of the Phoenix, and I’m glad I didn’t. If I reread the book, all I do the entire movie is harp on the changes they made, but when I don’t, I can enjoy the movie for what it is – and then go back, read the book, and bitch about the changes then.

    Although the changes in Prince Caspian were warranted, I think. And trust me, I never like changes from book to movie. This is one of the rare cases.

  3. tsuk Says:

    ok, i can finally read this post! i saw it last night. LOVED IT. i think most of the stuff they added was necessary to make it into a full length movie, cause not a lot actually happens in the book. the susan subplot i could have done without though. anyway, we must discuss.

  4. step Says:

    Agreed – the book really isn’t that great, it’s nowhere near my favorite in the series. And plus, it’s like the entire time Caspian and the boys are fighting this war, Lucy and Susan are off with Aslan dancing and drinking. Pretty unfair if you ask me. And the entire first half of the book is told in flashback, pretty much – it doesn’t make sense, film-wise. I’m glad they did it the way they did.

    I really could have done without the Caspian/Susan nonsense (DUMB) – because seriously, it’s all about Caspian/Lucy (Dawn Treader!). But yes, it was totally epic, we must discuss.


Leave a Reply

