Old Bay

April 1, 2008

I was inspired to post about my neverending love for Old Bay for two reasons. One, I dreamt I was eating Crab Chips last night. (The Utz kind, not this Lay’s nonsense.) And two, Lianna posted about her favorite condiment, so I thought I’d post about mine.

Old Bay

Growing up in the Chesapeake Bay area (I lived a 2 minute walk from the Bay until I was 6, then we moved to right on the Patuxent), I can’t remember a time when I didn’t love Old Bay. And for good reason – Old Bay is one of the greatest spices known to man. A combination of: celery salt, bay leaf, mustard seed, both black and red pepper, cinnamon, and ginger (thanks, Wikipedia!), the ingredients combine to create a perfect storm of flavor that tastes good on just about anything – crabs, chicken, popcorn, chips, eggs, fries, soup, the list is neverending. Can you imagine a pot of steamed crabs without Old Bay poured on top? I can’t. Even non-Maryland residents love it.  You can even do a line of it!  Just ask Ben.

Don’t believe me? Then read these testimonials:

Well, it’s obviously delicious. But aside from that, it is versatile. Yes, it’s great on popcorn. And let’s face it, crabs without Old Bay would be bland. You might as well eat lobster. – Elaina, 23, Washington, D.C.

Because Old Bay = Maryland.  It’s good on anything: crabs, chicken, shrimp, eggs, etc.  I feel sorry for people who don’t know what Old Bay is.  – Leah, 24, Huntingtown, MD

See what I mean?  If you don’t trust me, trust them.  Feel free to leave your own testimonials in the comments.  This post has made me miss Maryland.  At least I have Old Bay to comfort me.

3 Responses to “Old Bay”


  1. […] isn’t it?  I thought so.  In addition, I’ve also inspired two people to try Old Bay.  I’m telling you, you should trust my taste in things.  You can’t lose.  And with […]

  2. Allison Says:

    I have a local tattoo artist gal-pal who is Old Bay and Crab crazy. Her partner in DC made her a homemade tattoo machine for her birthday using an old bay tin:
    Old Bay Tattyzapper
    He Made it for Me, Hon!

    And somehow somewhere someone was old bay crazy enough to get this tattoo:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/cynroux/2398314103/

    So yep you aren’t the only Marylander crazy ’bout Old Bay! :D

  3. Shannon Ott Says:

    steponit.wordpress.com’s done it once again! Incredible writing.


Leave a Reply

