South Carolina votes yes.

March 21, 2008

When you think Founding Fathers, John Adams doesn’t exactly come to mind.  He’s not even on any currency (the presidential series dollars don’t count).  But thanks to HBO’s new miniseries about our second president, people might start remembering him from now on.

John Adams

Now, I won’t lie.  Every time I see Paul Giamatti in that wig, I laugh.  It could be a drinking game, it happens so often.  (Rule #2: Drink everytime you see someone who’s on currency.  Or has a monument.  So,  everyone who is not John Adams.)  But!  The miniseries itself is excellent.  Laura Linney should just go ahead and start writing her Emmy acceptance speech right now.  Not to mention the rest of the cast – Tom Wilkinson as Ben Franklin, David Morse as George Washington(could not be more perfectly cast), Stephen Dillane as Thomas Jefferson, who is quite possibly my favorite character.  (Rule #3, drink each time Thomas Jefferson looks  bewildered.)  Plus, Danny Huston, Justin Theroux, and newcomer (seriously, this is his first credit on the IMDb) Clancy O’Connor as Edward Rutledge, who currently holds the top spot in my informal list of best line readings for “South Carolina votes yes.”  Don’t ask me why, I just love it.  Should I friend him on Facebook?  Decisions, decisions.

Regardless, the miniseries is amazing, especially in the way it presents history to those of us long removed from Honors U.S. History (I took AP Euro instead of AP U.S. – it was a very smart decision on my part).  And it certainly is doing well for HBO, averaging 2.7 million viewers – they need the numbers, especially after the failure of In Treatment.  And I know that we personally have rewatched the episodes at least twice – why did we watch them last night?  It doesn’t matter – it was still entertaining.  So, watch John Adams, learn about the founding of our country, and laugh at Paul Giamatti’s wig.  I know that’s what I’ll be doing.

John Adams airs Sundays at 9 pm EST on HBO.

One Response to “South Carolina votes yes.”

  1. Francesca Says:

    I would just like to say that I always loved John Adams ever since my FIRST Broadway trip in the 8th grade when we saw this. And I own the movie version on VHS and it’s the BEST! :)


Leave a Reply

