I should have gone to Paley this weekend

March 19, 2008

  • Robin Williams to guest on SVU‘s 200th episode.  Playing an Emmy-baiting engineer who encourages others to defy authority – all this, just one episode after Bill “We will not go quietly into the night!  We will not vanish without a fight!” Pullman guests as Det. Olivia Benson’s boyfriend.  And make that a serious one, since apparently they’ve been dating for months – and Olivia didn’t tell Elliot.  Drama!
  • Sam Raimi in talks for a new Jack Ryan movie.  The last thing the world needs is another Tom Clancy product.  I may be biased, because I think Tom Clancy’s an asshole, but just because Batman Begins managed to successfully revive a franchise doesn’t mean we need to do it to all of them.  The man doesn’t need any more tanks in his front yard.
  • FOX picks up The Inn.  Created by Abraham Higginbotham and Niecy Nash – I won’t lie, Abraham Higginbotham’s name is the best reason to actually pay attention to the credits of Arrested Development.  (That and Stephanie Coffey – I lol’ed.)  With this and Boldly Going Nowhere next year, I’m pretty sure The Return of Jezebel James is going to do exactly that.  Go nowhere.  Take THAT, Amy Sherman-Palladino, you and your hyperaware dialogue.  No one talks like that in real life, it’s just a fact.
  • The best thing I’ve read all week.  This guy makes me proud to be a Judge.  The way he completely rips into Heather Mills is beautiful to behold.  ‘In her final submissions the wife described her contribution as ‘exceptional’. I reject her case. I am afraid to say her case on this issue is devoid of reality.’  Amazing.  Amazing.

In other news, I took class last night, and guess what?  My arches – wait for it, Francesca – are cramping.  It was a good class though, even if my extension has suffered, and there was a guy there who looked like B.J. Novak’s stoner brother – if he had one.  Anyone?  Does B.J. Novak have a stoner brother?  Let me know.

Leave a Reply

