TV returns, Stephanie rejoices

March 17, 2008

Today marks the return of post-strike television.  On November 5, 2007, I was bereft.  But now, oh now, TV returns, and I could not be gladder.  Ironic, then, that the show that returns tonight that I’m most excited for is one that I didn’t even begin to watch until after the strike began. 

How I Met Your Mother

I won’t lie, I’m not a CBS watcher.   I don’t find shows with letters in their titles (except SVU) all that interesting.  But How I Met Your Mother is the exception.  Maybe I was a comedy snob, maybe I thought laugh tracks were beneath me, but I hadn’t entertained the notion of watching the show (despite the praise I heard) until during the strike.  And then, only then, did I learn what I was missing out on.

HIMYM is a show that transcends the two hour comedy block that is CBS Monday nights and rises above the subpar shows that don’t even attempt to be original (I’m looking at you, Two And A Half Men), to become more than just “a funny show with Jason Segel and NPH”, and instead, “a legen – wait for it – dary comedy that could someday cure cancer.  Or AIDS.”  Sure, CBS doesn’t trust it to lead off the lineup anymore (although I’m choosing to believe that perhaps they’re trying to protect the show with the 8:30 move), and sure, it may be on the bubble, but aren’t the best shows the ones that Nielsen ignores but fans love?  (Although Nielsen won’t be ignoring them for long, viewing parties at our place!)  And yes, it may also be the fact that it’s kind of parallel to our lives (I’m a Ted in situation, but in personality, I’m much more of a Robin) that makes it so appealing, but really, it’s the writing, the acting, and the all around awesomeness that makes the show so amazing to watch.  Plus, next week is the Britney episode, and it’ll either be a trainwreck or a ratings grab – and let’s face it, it’ll probably be both.  Win-win!

So, thank you, Francesca, for introducing me to the show.  And thank you, WGA, for all that you do.  May you get all the residuals you deserve, and may SAG and AFTRA reach their deals quickly.  Because another strike might just kill me.

How I Met Your Mother airs Mondays at 8:30 pm EST on CBS.

One Response to “TV returns, Stephanie rejoices”

  1. Francesca Says:

    You’re welcome.

    And I for one enjoy the 8:30PM timeslot as I now have a 2 hour commute to and from New York eating my life.


Leave a Reply

